Episode 26: Jack Davey on Digable Planets’ “Reachin'” (1993)

Episode 26

21st March 2018

Jack Davey, of J*Davey, joined us to flip us back to Digable Planets’ debut 1993 album, “Reachin.” We be to podcasting what key be to lock.

Episode notes

The album: Digable Planets: Reachin’ (1993)

Miss Jack Davey’s contribution to LA’s alternative soul scene began over a decade ago with her work as one half of the group J*Davey. Their debut project, “The Beauty In Distortion” a mix of punk, funk, synth and soul, was a must have for tastemakers and made a splash both in Los Angeles and around the world. When she’s not writing songs and producing, she can be found at a myriad of cool spots around the city, spreading the good news of good music as a DJ and selector.
Davey wanted to get into Digable Planets’ debut album, now celebrating its 25th anniversaryReachin’ (a new refutation of time and space). Coming out at the height of hip-hop’s love affair with jazz, Reachin’ has been lauded as “an album about freedom—from convention, from oppression, from the limits imposed by the space-time continuum.”
We had a chance to talk with Davey about Digable Planets’ “Rebirth of Slick” and its cool factor, Brooklyn and its relationship to the album, Ladybug Mecca’s butter voice, and what’s it’s like to be cool and not know it.

More on Reachin’

More on Jack Davey and J*Davey

Show Tracklisting (all songs from Reachin’ unless indicated otherwise):

    • “Rebirth of Slick”
    • Georgia Anne Muldrow: Olesi: Fragments of an Earth “Wrong Way”
    • Sy Smith: The Syberspace Social “Aquarius Rising”
    • Sa-Ra: The Hollywood Recordings “Glorious”
    • Flying Lotus: Los Angeles “Roberta Flack (Feat Dolly)”
    • Dam-Funk: Toeachizown “Searching 4 Funk’s Future”
    • J*Davey: The Beauty in Distortion / The Land of the Lost “No More”
    • “La Femme Fetal”
    • Guru: Jazzmatazz “Loungin’”
    • Young Deciples: Road To Freedom “As We Come (To Be)”
    • “Jimmi Diggin Cats”
    • Digable Planets: Blowout Comb “Graffiti”
    • “Where I’m From”
    • Fugees: The Score “Fu-Gee-La”
    • UTD: Manifest Destiny “Manifest Destiny”
    • “What Cool Breezes Do”
    • “Last of the Spiddyocks”
    • “Swoon Units”
    • “Escapism (Getting Free)”
    • “Nickel Bags”
    • E-40: My Ghetto Report Card “Yay Area”

<style=”text-align: left;”> </style=”text-align:>

If you’re not already subscribed to Heat Rocks in Apple Podcasts, do it here!

In this episode...


  • Jack Davey

About the show

Hosted by Oliver Wang and Morgan Rhodes, every episode of Heat Rocks invites a special guest to talk about a heat rock – a hot album, a scorching record. These are in-depth conversations about the albums that shape our lives.

Our guests include musicians, writers, and scholars and though we don’t exclusively focus on any one genre, expect to hear about albums from the worlds of soul, hip-hop, funk, jazz, Latin, and more.

New episodes every Thursday on Apple Podcasts or whatever you get your podcasts.

Subscribe to our website updates for exclusive bonus content (including extra interview segments, mini-episodes, etc.)

Meanwhile, you can email us at heatrockspod@gmail.com or follow us on social media:

How to listen

Stream or download episodes directly from our website, or listen via your favorite podcatcher!

Share this show